The first and the only female Registrar/Chief Executive of the Nigerian Institute of Management (Chartered) to date, Mrs. Patience Anabor, fondly called PATITO by loved ones, was born in Benin City on July 14, 1948 to Mr.& Mrs. Abel Agheisi Addo of blessed memory.
She attended Fiwasaiye Girls Grammar School, Akure, from 1961-1966 and Edo College, Benin City for her A levels. This alumnus of California State University, San Jose, California, USA, graduated with bachelors and masters degrees in January 1973 and June 1974 with a major in English and Librarianship respectively. An accomplished and renowned librarian, Mrs. Anabor is a time tested manager of men and materials.
Prior to moving her services to the Nigerian Institute of Management as the Institute’s librarian, Mrs. Anabor had worked with the University of Benin where she assiduously worked her way from Assistant Librarian in 1974 to become Senior Librarian in 1981, a position she held till 1985 when she joined the Institute. Perhaps the highpoint of her work life at the University of Benin was making history by becoming the first elected female member of the University Senate in 1977.
On joining the Institute, her knack for hard work and dedication to duty became also noticeable and she was rewarded with more work and promotions. This saw her climbing up the management ladder swiftly, moving from being the Institute’s Librarian at the point of entry to becoming the Chief Executive eighteen years later in 2003. In addition to receiving letters of appreciation from three past Presidents of the Institute (Mrs. Margaret Adeleke, Mr. Akinbayo Adenubi and Late Dr. (Chief) Lugard Aimiuwu) for discharging her duties creditably, Mrs. Anabor is the recipient of 1997 NIM Presidential Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to the development of the Institute. She became a Fellow of the Institute in 2002.
She scored another first by being the first retired Registrar/Chief Executive to be elected into the Council of the Institute in 2011. Before becoming a member of Council, she had served as Secretary to Council during her tenure as the Registrar/Chief Executive (2003 – 2008). She served also as chairman of several committees of Council including Publications and Library; Awards, and Membership Committees of Council. Her innumerable contributions to the advancement of the Institute and the management profession culminated in her being elected the National Treasurer in 2015 for a two year term. She was elected the Deputy President of the Nigerian Institute of Management in 2017.
Mrs. Anabor is a member of the Nigerian Library Association and she has attended many leadership and management courses in Nigeria and the business schools of Ivy League universities across the world. She belongs to some social clubs such as the Inner Wheel Club of Satellite Town, Lagos, Club Unique, Benin City and Blessed Sisters, Lagos where she served as Treasurer and Assistant Secretary respectively. Mrs. Anabor is very active in her church, Saints Michael, Raphael & Gabriel Catholic Church, Satellite Town, Lagos, where she served as a member of the church council. She belongs to the Catholic Women Organisation (CWO) of the same church and is an active member having served the organization as Financial Secretary and Treasurer at different times.
She was married to Late Mr. Philip Anabor, FNIM, and the marriage is blessed with children and grand children.
This Amazon of many firsts, woman of integrity and compassion, a manager of men and materials, a.k.a. “Mama NIM”, became the 22nd President and Chairman of Council of the Nigerian Institute of Management (Chartered) in December 2019.

Dr. (Mrs.) Christiana Atako, former Ag. Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of the Niger Delta Development Commission, was born on August 21, and hails from Asang Eniong, Odukpani Local Government Area of Cross Rivers State. She had her early education at Primary School, Mayne Avenue, Calabar and Union Secondary School, Ibiaku, between 1965 and 1975. She obtained the National Certificate of Education (English/French) from the College of Education, Uyo in 1978. Thereafter, she attended the University of Sokoto from where she graduated in 1984 with a First Class Honours Degree in English. She also obtained a Post Graduate Diploma (Public Relations) from the Nigerian Institute of Journalism, Lagos in 2000, another Post Graduate Diploma (Cross-Sector Partnership from the University of Cambridge in 2002 and yet another Post Graduate Diploma (Conflict Resolution Skills) from the University of Coventry in 2007.
After her National Youth Service between 1978 and 1979 at the School of Nursing, Oshogbo, she worked with the Cross River State Teaching Service Commission and Cross River State Civil Service Commission from 1979 to 1993. In 1993 she joined the Oil Mineral Producing Areas Development Commission (OMPADEC) as Assistant Director, Community Affairs, from 1995 to 2001, she was Assistant Director, Public Affairs in OMPADEC. Between 2001 when Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) was set up and June 2002, she was Assistant Director and Acting Head of Community and Rural Development Directorate. She became Deputy Director, Community and Rural Development in March 2003, Head, Corporate Affairs in 2007, Director, Community and Rural Development in 2010 and Director, Education, Health and Social Services in 2012. In 2013, Dr. Atako was appointed Acting Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of the Commission.
Dr. (Mrs.) Atako has attended several courses, seminars and conferences within and outside the country and has also presented scholarly papers in several training programmes and workshops.
A versatile professional, Dr. Atako is a Fellow of several professional bodies such as the Nigerian Institute of Management; Institute of Strategic Management; Certified Institute of Public Administration and Management; Certified Directors Institute, and Institute of Corporate Managers and Public Administrators. She is also a member of the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations, Nigerian Institute of Personnel Management and Nigerian Institute of Management Consultants.
Dr. Atako who joined in the Institute in 2000 has served in different capacities at Port Harcourt Chapter and Rivers State Branch as well as national level where she has been a four time Council Member. In recognition of her sterling contributions to the development of the Institute and growth of the management profession, she was elected the National Treasurer in December 2019.
Her hobbies are reading, researching and traveling. She is married with children.